Flash Fiction 400

The TSS International Flash Fiction Competitions, 2019

Every quarter we will be publishing the winning and highly commended Flash Fiction entries in our Short Fiction section.

This is an international competition.

Please see below for further details on the awards, general criteria, judges, and the submission link.

Status: Open

Next Deadline: 31st March 2019 (midnight, U.K. time)

Wordcount: 400

Entry Fee: £5

Following a conversation with Kit de Waal (interview with TSS here), we are happy to announce that submission fees for the Flash Fiction 400 competition will be waived for any writers from marginalised and disadvantaged communities, or anyone suffering from economic hardship. For further details please click here.

Judges: Elisabeth Ingram Wallace and Rupert Dastur

Results: longlist announced mid-April. Winners and Highly Commended in late April / early May.

Prizes: Online and Print Publication plus 1st £400, 2nd £100, 3rd £50

Highly Commended: Up to five further flash fictions will be highly commended and published online. They will also receive £25 each.


  • All 1st place winners will be nominated for the Best Small Fiction Awards.
  • All winners (1st, 2nd, 3rd) will be published in a chapboook within 12 months of the spring competition.
  • All winners (1st, 2nd, 3rd) will be interviewed, by TSS Publishing, about their flash fiction and their writing more generally.


Please read through the Terms and Conditions before submitting.IMPORTANT: Due to the volume of submissions, we do not have the capability to email entrants individually regarding results. Please sign up to our newsletter (right sidebar) to keep up to date with competition news, or check the website directly.

Terms and Conditions

  1. Flash Fictions must be in English and no longer than 400 words, including title.
  2. Entries should be 12 pt, a regular font, and at least 1.5 spaced.
  3. Please put the title and word count on the first page. Please number the pages.
  4. No author identification should be included on the entry. Work is judged anonymously.
  5. Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but please let us know if your work is accepted elsewhere. Refunds are not possible.
  6. Entries must not have been previously published online or in print.
  7. Please submit as a DOC, DOCX. No PDFs please.
  8. You may submit more than one Flash Fiction. Previous winners may also submit to later competitions.
  9. Refunds are not possible.

Please check all email folders for an email from both us and PayPal - if you do not, then your payment has not been successful and we will not be able to submit your story to the competition.

Some older versions of Word struggle to upload correctly. If you have any difficulties submitting your work, please email rupert@theshortstory.co.uk

I agree to the Terms and Conditions*
Upload a File:*

Sign up to our newsletter to stay up to date with news of competitions, results, and more.

The Judges

Elisabeth Ingram WallaceElisabeth Ingram Wallace lives in Scotland, and her writing is published in SmokeLong Quarterly, Atticus Review, Flash Frontier, and the Bath Flash Fiction Award anthologies. A finalist for The Best Small Fictions 2018, she has a Scottish Book Trust ‘New Writers Award’, a Dewar Arts Award, and won ‘Writing the Future 2017’. She studied English as a mature student at Oxford University, and has a Creative Writing M.Litt. with Distinction from the University of Glasgow. She also won the TSS Flash 400 summer competition with her Flash ‘Space Hopped’ . You can find her on Twitter @ingram_wallace or on her website here.

Rupert DasturRupert Dastur is a writer, editor, and founding director of TSS Publishing. He studied English at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, where he specialised in Modernism and the Short Story. He is Associate Editor at The Word Factory, a leading short story organisation based in London, and he has supported several short story projects and anthologies. Rupert’s own work has appeared in a number of places online and in print and he is currently working on his first novel.

Results of previous Flash 400 competitions