Today TSS turns five.

Like all projects, there’s a huge number of people who have been a tremendous help over the years and we would like to give special thanks to the following who have guided, advised, and supported TSS in numerous ways. Many of these writers, editors, and publishers (listed alphabetically) are also champions of the short form and their work continues to inspire.

  • Becky Tipper
  • Cathy Galvin
  • Christopher Allen
  • Christopher M. Drew
  • Damhnait Monaghan
  • Elisabeth Ingram Wallace
  • Emily Devane
  • Giselle Leeb
  • Helen Rye
  • Jude Higgins
  • Karen Jones
  • Kate Jones
  • Katy Darby
  • Katy Wimhurst
  • Marie Gethins
  • Melissa Fu
  • Nichola Royle
  • Paul McVeigh
  • Peter Jordan
  • Professor Charles E. May
  • Rachael Smart
  • Sean Lusk
  • Sophie Van Llewyn
  • Tamsin Hopkins
  • Tania Hershman

This list could go on and on. There are so many more people that are and have been involved in the journal over the last five years and to each and every one, a big thank you.

Behind all this activity is single belief and a single goal: short narratives are important, and they need to be championed.

We’ll do our best to keep faith with this.

Other ambitions we aim to continue:

  • Avoid reading fees
  • Respond to submissions promptly
  • Edit considerately
  • Publish work attractively
  • Pay writers

With final thanks to all the readers who enjoy the writing on this site and the authors who trust us with their work.

Here’s to another five years!


Your support lets us know our work is appreciated. We’re a paying market, publishing brilliant new work of fiction and non-fiction that comes our way. As a small group of volunteers, we’re dedicated to writers, readers, and publishers and want to keep our site ad, pop-up, and fire-wall free. Please do consider supporting us in whatever way you can. Thank you.

Please support TSSPlease support TSS